top of page

"Either Way, You're Right" -Henry Ford


“Whether you think you can or think you can’t, either way, you’re right.” –Henry Ford

Henry Ford is most well-known for introducing the world to the Ford Motor Company in 1903. Some of his best known works were his employment of an assembly line in his factories, and the creation of one of the best known vehicles in history, the Model T. Henry Ford was born on July 30th, 1863 on a farm in Wayne County, Michigan, and died on April 7th, 1947. (Flink)

“Whether you think you can or think you can’t, either way you’re right” –Henry Ford. This quote refers to what you think you are capable of accomplishing in your life. You are right in whatever path you choose for yourself; you will accomplish what you think you can do. That might mean you will be a farmer, or maybe you will revolutionize the automobile industry.

Henry Ford started out as just a mechanic that was fired after 6 days at his first job. He was also expected to be a farmer after being given 40 acres for his wedding. He cut down all the timber on that land and sold it. He decided he couldn’t be a farmer. Instead Mr. Ford liked to build experimental cars. He was determined to do something greater with his life, something greater that revolved around building cars. Despite the expectations of his family, he believed he could be successful in doing something other than farming, and he most certainly was. Due to his relentless experimentation and belief that he could, he was able to create the Ford Motor Company and change the face of the auto industry forever. (Flink)

I think everybody can identify with this quote. Everybody has had to make a decision based on whether they believe they can or can’t do something. I became a marathon runner because I believed I could, and I did. It didn’t matter to me how many people told me I was crazy. I was certainly right in believing that I could; I’ve been right four times now. I did, however, decide to drop out of marathon number 5. I think I can’t properly train for it and go to school and get the grades that I want. Either way, I’m still doing something productive and beneficial to my future. It’s all about the choices you make and what’s more important to you at the time. Now, I think I can go to school, get a degree, and become a teacher.

Works Cited

Flink, James J. American National Biography Online: Ford, Henry. Oxford University Press, Feb. 2000. Web. 25 Jan. 2016. <http://www.anb.org/articles/10/10-00578.html>.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page